Devon Meadows application to join the MPCA

Dear Member Clubs,

The Mornington Peninsula Cricket Association would like to inform all affiliated members of our competition that the application for Devon Meadows to join the MPCA has been REJECTED by the clubs.

A majority vote of 75% was required from our 37 Clubs and this was not achieved.

We would like to thank the Devon Meadows Cricket Club, the WGCA and all MPCA Clubs for the time, effort and thought they put into this process.

The MPCA will continue to work with any club wishing to join our association to further build the MPCA competition, in consultation with our existing clubs, in the most fair and equitable way for all.


To all member clubs,
On behalf of the MPCA board, we are pleased to announce the appointment of JASON NAGEL to the position of MPCA General Manager/Secretary.
Jason has been associated in various roles as a player, coach and administrator within Mornington Peninsula Cricket for some 30+ years.
He brings to this role not only his vast cricket background and knowledge, but skills such as planning, strong communication, cost management, procedural and document control, that he has developed in his working career as a project manager with a number of engineering companies.
Jason will formally commence in this role as of next Monday (26th July) working alongside Ian Benson for a period of time to ensure that a successful handover occurs, at what is currently a busy time leading into the coming cricket season.
Please join the MPCA board in welcoming Jason to his new role.
We would also like to take this opportunity to formally thank Ian Benson for his work over the last five years, futher correspondence on this matter will follow later.

Victorian Country Cricket League Team of the Year

The MPCA Board wishes to pass on its Congratulations to Matthew Prosser from  Langwarrin on his selection in the VCCL 2020/21 Team of the Year.

We also congratulate all those selected in this team.





Victorian Country Cricket League – Media Release

The Victorian Country Cricket League has selected its Team of the Year for season 2020-21. Eight regional cricket teams of the year were originally forwarded to the VCCL and all 96 players were considered for inclusion in the VCCL team.

The selection process includes the application of criteria based on player performances using statistics from home and away matches of each country cricket association’s top grade or division. The team contains two opening batsmen, four top and middle order batsmen, an all-rounder, a wicketkeeper and four bowlers, at least one of whom has to be a spinner.

“The VCCL team of the year is decided on the basis of total runs and wickets, the best averages and the most wicket-keeping dismissals. All other variables are discounted,” VCCL chairman of selectors Rob McIntyre said.

“This season’s nominations have again seen some outstanding performances in country cricket associations across this State,” he said. “With most competitions playing fixtures of one-day matches for the entire season due to the pandemic, the top batting performances came from those who batted in the first four positions for their teams. The top bowlers were still able to take wickets numbering in the high 30’s and early 40’s even though they were restricted to the number of overs they could bowl in each match in the one-day format.”

Sam Miller has been named captain after amassing over 900 runs in the Ballarat Cricket Association. Sam returned to Ballarat last season after stints in Canberra and South Australia where he played Sheffield Shield and one-day matches.

Dale Kerr is vice-captain after another outstanding season with the ball. He has been a consistently high wicket-taker in the Bellarine Peninsula competition for the past seven seasons.

Six members of this season’s team have been selected in previous VCCL Teams of the Year – Sean O’Neill (2017/18, 2018/19), Dale Kerr (2017/18, 2019/20), Cameron Wheeler (2017/18), Joshua White (2018/19), Jacob Smith (2018/19) and Rhys Webb ((2018/19).

The VCCL Team of the Year process provides Vic Country selectors with an opportunity to recognise the better players across the State when identifying potential Victorian country squad members for the Australian Country Cricket Championships to be held in January 2022.

Members of the 2020-21 VCCL team will be acknowledged with a plaque and cap presentation at the league’s annual general meeting in early August.

Condolences to Graeme Robinson

It is with great sadness that the MPCA and the MPCUA advise that the wife of long serving Umpire Graeme Robinson, Heather, tragically died in a car accident on Saturday 19th June in  Mornington.Graeme’s son, Michael was a passenger in the car with his mother and he suffered serious injuries. He has now been released from ICU today.

The MPCA and MPCUA extend their heartfelt sympathy to Graeme at this most difficult time for him.




The Mornington Peninsula Cricket Umpires Association (MPCUA) is seeking to recruit both newcomers and experienced umpires to its ranks for the 2021-22 season and beyond – both female and male applicants are most welcome.

Are you an ex-player who hasn’t been involved in the game for a while – maybe you are a club supporter interested in becoming more actively involved in the game – or perhaps you are simply a cricket lover who wants to take on the challenge of participating directly in the game from the best seat in the house. Umpiring with the MPCUA will help you reignite old cricket friendships and forge new bonds with your fellow umpires.

All new recruits will be provided with full training before the commencement of the season – thereafter, ongoing support, mentoring and constructive feedback will be provided throughout the season.

The Mornington Peninsula Cricket Association (MPCA) has four very competitive divisions, Provincial/Peninsula/District/Sub-District, which encompasses teams from as far afield as Carrum and Seaford to Sorrento and French Island – all matches are played on Saturday afternoons from 1pm with a finishing time of no later than 7pm – attractive match payments are on offer.

For further details or an expression of interest please contact:

Paul Tuff, Director of Umpires – 0417 169 718

Garry Seaborne, Secretary – 0422 432 915

Vale Mr Simon Fiedler (1951-2021)

The Mornington Peninsula Cricket Association is saddened to hear of the passing of our esteemed Life Member and Historian Simon Fiedler and extends its deepest condolences to the family and friends of Simon.
Simon began his Cricket career at Moorooduc and soon found his way to Mornington by 1969.
Simon’s service to the MPCA extends for more than 50 years and his contribution included being a MPCA Board Member, Country Week Scorer, Historian and Life Member of the MPCA. Simon also spent many hours looking after the Turf wicket and the maintenance of the oval and rooms at Grayden’s Road.
Simon was awarded Life Membership of both the Mornington CC and the MPCA, he also was awarded in 2000 an Australian Sports Medal for Services to Cricket.
Simon’s interest was not only limited to Cricket but was awarded a Life Membership of the Southern Umpires Association and was Historian of the Mornington Peninsula Nepean Football League for some 30 years. Simon gave up so much of his time to record and maintain the ongoing history of our Association and the local Football Association for many many years.
Simon’s passion was the History of both local football and cricket and a more knowledgeable facts and figures man we have yet to meet. Simon spent countless hours at the Victorian State Library researching old newspapers to complete his comprehensive reports.
Simon will be sadly missed by many.
RIP Mr Fiedler.